The Gift of Enduring Love; Young Love

I wanted to do a devotion on the enduring love of Christ tonight because February is a very special month, not only does Valentine’s Day fall in it but, so does my anniversary to my former husband.  We were married on February 20, 1993–23 years ago.  Valentine’s Day is a day of love, laughter, romance, cheer and just all around good feelings and gestures about love.  Just as in a marital relationship, in a spiritual relationship there are ups & downs.  There are days when you could not imagine living without the other then there are days you just want to strangle the other.  Well fortunately God’s love for us in enduring, he loved us so much that he gave his only begotten son for us.  Our love for each other should be enduring as well, none of us are perfect, we all have our shortcomings.

My marriage to my first husband was a very stressful one due to illness, financial stress due to disability and then we faced infertility on top of everything else.  We had to draw strength from each other and from our faith in God.  God can give us peace, the peace that no other can.  God gave me strength when I lost my first husband, Chris.  He prepared me spiritually & mentally.  I was down in the chapel praying and I stood up raising my hands, thanking God for Chris still being alive, minor progress & such.  Well when I stood up I saw the words flash before my eyes..I will hide you in a secret place in my pavillion. I saw Chris lying there in what looked like the Tomb of Jesus.  There was big stone in front of the door and a guard on each side.  God said “He’s not coming out till I’m ready”   & I just knew that Chris was going to wake up.  Well the next night he started bleeding internally and he did not make it.  I lost it!  I screamed, I told my mom that they were going to have to bury me with him and much more.  Well when the doctors came out to talk to us I got hit with this bolt of lightening, STRENGTH!  STRENGTH that only God could give.  I told the doctors that I had to see him.  They hesitated but, they let me see him.  He was suffering, shaking, raging in pain.  I took one look and said “My baby go home!  Go home and be with our babies” I felt that it would have been selfish for me to beg him to stay suffering like that.  Well at the funeral I had played “Love me” by Collin Raye.  I actually sang it to him and my Godchild came up to me to check on me and he told my Aunt that he could feel the love between us.  He said he had never felt love like that before.  It was amazing.  That is the kind of love that Christ has for us, enduring love, unconditional love.  I am so very thankful that God so loved the world that he sent his only begotten son to save us.  We are so undeserving of his love, we fail him everyday, yet he still loves us.  He wants us to put our trust in him for everything.  I mean everything!

I hope that you enjoyed this devotion.  God bless & have a great night.

Crystal

Leave a Reply

