I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America…I’m married to a Marine Veteran

So today was just an ordinary day, I had a ton of work to do.  Work was going along just fine as I hurried to get everything that I could done before leaving for a meeting.

Well I made it to the meeting in plenty of time.  I even met up with an old friend/business associate.  He had moved away for several years and has recently moved back to town.  That was rather refreshing.  As everyone arrived & got signed in, the crowd mingled and everyone enjoyed each other’s company.  In such a fast paced world it’s nice to take a moment sometimes to stop and enjoy the moment.

So I was sitting at the sign in table with another lady and she was approached and asked if she would do the blessing.  She was not up to it.  She said she didn’t want to speak in front of all those people.  I quickly volunteered to say the blessing and thought all was well.  A few minutes later I was told that I would instead lead the Pledge of Allegiance.  I thought oh!  I didn’t want to mess it up so I sat at the table and practiced it a couple times.

It didn’t really hit me until I got up there to say it…I started off a bit different…”This is an honor for me as I am married to a Marine, I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God indivisible with liberty and justice for all.

I didn’t realize how much it would mean to me to lead the pledge.  I was amoungst MANY local business people.  It was truly an honor to lead fellow business men & women in the pledge, something that is so near & dear to my heart.

I never truly knew what the true meaning of sacrifice was until I met the man I call husband.  He is a Marine Veteran who is very proud that he served our country.  He fought so that you & I could have the freedom to do so many things that we so often take for granted.  Take for instance all of the fighting going on over seas in other countries.  Our service men & women fight to keep the fighting from coming to American soil.

When I left the meeting I called my husband and told him that I did something in his honor.  He says, you did?  So I told him that I had lead the pledge and that I had mentioned that I am married to a Marine.  I think that made his day.  He thanked me and said he appreciated it.

I am one proud wife of a Marine Veteran.  All my love to my husband, thank you for your sacrifice in serving our country.

Leave a Reply

