The Light of the Gospel in the darkest hour; Satan blinds but God gives light

Lighthouse

My family and I have been facing some very dark hours lately and God gave me revelation this morning that he is in the midst and he is in control.  Let’s rewind a lil bit…

My husband and I recently moved back to my old neighborhood, a neighborhood that used to be peaceful and calming, full of love and children laughing, playing in the street.  I’ve longed to be back at this place for some time as my dad’s health is beginning to fail and I want to be close so that if my mother needs help I’m here.

But, I’m afraid that the neighborhood that I left long ago has also been long gone….it’s become ridled with drugs and violence, just as much of the world has these days.  My husband is caught in the middle of a raging war and I don’t know what to do.  I’ve grown up with most of the people on this street, I’ve come to distance myself from the troubled ones and stay close to my family.  My husband had a different insight on the troubled ones and he saw a need, a need for guidance a need for training, a need for a better community.  He reached out to a couple of the kids in the neighborhood and did not get the response that he so genuinely hoped for.  My husband has such a big heart, he came from a troubled past himself, he has insight as to the path that these kids are on and he genuinely wants to help.  Over the past few months my family has been tormented by neighborhood kids that think they run the street.  I try to come home and not fool with anyone, I stay to myself and mind my own business.  But, these kids are running amuck–threatening my animals, threatening my husband and I’m not going to stand for it!

I’ve been praying for God to protect us, praying for peace on my street again.  I have family on this street that I feel is very vulnerable and I want them to feel safe at their homes.  I have neices that are at very impressionable ages and I don’t want to see them caught up in this either.  I don’t want them to be exposed to the drugs or the violence, they deserve so much more.

So this morning, I’m watching a TV ministry show and God gave me an AHA moment….

The following verses are in 2 Corinthians

Satan blinds but, God gives light
And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, in whose case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelieving so that they might not see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. For we do not preach ourselves but Christ Jesus as Lord, and ourselves as your bond-servants for Jesus’ sake.…

So we are supposed to let our light shine upon the nonbelievers….hmmm Let’s see, we need to be the gospel, we need to be the Bible that they see.  If our gospel is hidden, it’s hidden from the lost.  It’s our charge as Christians to be the gospel, the light to the lost to show them the love of Christ.  I think it’s easy to loose sight of certain things when we are living in such a dark world.  It’s easy to give in to the fleshly body and fight fire with fire so to speak.  We need to get back into the word and resist Satan.  The word says if we resist Satan he will FLEE!!

So this is my prayer:

For God so loved the world that he sent his only begotten son, that whosover believeth in him should not perish but, have everlasting life.  Lord I know that you love each and every one of us the same, you say come as you are.  We are all sinners saved by grace.  The grace that you afforded us by sending your son to die on a cross, to be beat, to be tormented, to be ridiculed to be ultimately SACRIFICED for us.  For wretched sinners…..sinners such as I.  Lord I plead the blood of the Lamb over my neighborhood, I plead the blood of the Lamb over these troubled children, I claim them in the MIGHTHY NAME OF JESUS!  Satan you MUST FLEE FROM BY BLOCK!!!!!  YOU ARE NOT WELCOME HERE!!!!!  I CLAIM PEACE, I CLAIM JOY, I CLAIM LAUGHTER IN THE STREETS, I CLAIM A VICTORY IN THE MIGHTY NAME OF JESUS!!!!

THIS LITTLE LIGHT OF MINE, I’M GONNA LET IT SHINE, LET IT SHINE, LET IT SHINE

Leave a Reply

