Look upon the tears of the oppressed; Who will comfort them?

Ecclesiastes 4:1-12

Look upon the tears of the oppressed, who will comfort them?  There was force from the hand of the oppressor and no one there to comfor them….

Have you ever been in a situation that you felt so alone, that you felt you were being held under the force of evil or opression?  Who do you turn to?  Who do you look to for strength?  Do you have family or friends that don’t understand what you are going through?  I’ve been in many a situation that I’ve felt alone, I’ve cried and wondered who was going to catch my tears.  But, thankfully I was taught at a young age to turn to my faith, that God would catch my tears.  Think about the Footprints in the Sand poem.  What does it say?  It says that when we were at our weakest point God carried us, he did not leave us, he carried us.  Do you turn to your faith for strength, for comfort for understanding of why you are going through the things you are going through?

And I thought that the dead were fortunate….  Still better than both is the one that has not seen the evil deeds that are done under the sun.

Have you ever been told when you loose a loved one “They are better off.”  I know that is very hard to hear when the pain of losing a loved one is so fresh.  Sometimes if you’ve lost someone that suffered a terminal illness–perhaps you’ve said that they are better off.  Maybe because they are no longer suffering, maybe because you are glad that they are in Heaven.  What about the ones that have not seen evil deeds?  Are you jealous of them, are you envious of them that don’t see the evil in this world?  I know I am–my dear sweet grandmother taught us to look for the good in others.  She was a God fearing woman if I ever saw one.  She had a pride that could not be matched, would not accept something for nothing.  But, she loved God and she taught us to love God and to turn to our faith in times of trouble.

Then I saw that all toil and every skillful work comes from one man’s envy of another.  This is also vanity and like chasing the wind.  The fool folds his hands and eats his flesh.

So are you envious of another?  Do you get consumed with envy causing you pain and turmoil, causing others pain and turmoil?  We are not supposed to be envious or boastful.  We are supposed to love one another and be kind to one another.  If you are envious of another, please pray about it and give it to God.  He can help you to let go of the envy and grow to love one another and have peace with one another.

There is a man who is alone, no son, no brother.  There is no end to his toil, and his eyes are not satisfied with riches to say, “For whom do I labor?” This vanity is a burdensome task.  Two are better than one , because there is a good reward for their labor together.  For if they fall, then they help each other up. They keep each other warm and if someone tries to overpower another two can withstand and a threefold cord cannot be quickly be broken.

Are you alone? or do you know someone who is alone?  Have you thought about befriending that someone? That would be a great ministry or act of ministry.  I have a friend that is a widow and I try to do what I can for her, she calls me sometimes just to talk because she is lonely and she longs for that friendship or companionship.  Sometimes we talk about everyday things, sometimes she is down and calls me for prayer.  I am also a widow so I try to be there for her when I can.  I know how hard it is to be alone to face life alone.  It’s not easy.  But, I’m thankful that God has provided for me and he’s blessed me with such a loving family.  A family that supports me in whatever I do.  So think about it, if you know someone that is alone or lonely befriend them, bring them groceries once in a while, call to check on them, just show them a little compassion and you will see the light in them.  You will also feel the light in your life, God will bless you for your act of kindness, no matter how big or small.

Hope you enjoyed this devotion.  I’ve enjoyed reading the Bible and putting together a little something for you to think about.  May God bless and keep you.  Amen

Leave a Reply

