Road Trip #2; Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse

Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse
Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse

Even though it’s been a little whie since we took this road trip it’s still very fresh in my memory and I wanted to share it with you all.  So if you remember we took a vacation to New Hampshire for our daughter’s wedding and were able to get in a couple road trips, this is day 2.  So we all get moving around in the morning, trying to decide what we are going to do for the day, our time there was winding down and we wanted to make the most of it.  So after we see the kids off on their honeymoon we packed up and headed out ourselves.  My mother in law and brother in law were there for the wedding and we wanted to spend time with them as well since we don’t get to see them often either.

Well my brother in law was clever and did some research on the local tourist attractions up in Maine, I had told him the day before that I wanted to go see a lighthouse.  He had the routes all planned out for the day.   We were very blessed to have him do that.  He wanted to see some other local sites and was kind enough to include the lighthouse for me.

So we hit the road a little later than we wanted to, but we just had to see the kids off! We drove about an hour and a half before we got to the first destination which was Perkins Cove on the coast.  It was GORGEOUS!!  So they dropped my husband and I off to go through the local shops and they took the walking trail along the coast.  I had been having lots of trouble with my feet and was not able to walk the trail which was 1 mile each way.  My brother in law is more of an outdoorsy type anyway, they really enjoyed their walk.  It actually went from Perkins Cove, where we were all the way across to another little touristy town full of shops and attractions.

Digital Camera
Entering Perkins Cove
Digital Camera
View off the coast

My husband and I started off with a shop filled with Christmas ornaments!  OMG there were so many, I just could not belive my eyes.  I wanted to buy them all!  But, I settled for buying one for the newlyweds–I know she likes kind of country styled decor so I found one with cute little birds on a heart and it said “First Christmas”. I had saw some with a bride and groom and all glittery but, this one was just perfect!  I knew she’d love it!  After a while my husband says, are you ready?  Off to the next shop we go… This one was filled with candy, candy of all kinds!  There was chocolate, taffy, brownies, cookies, candy corn and soooo much more!  We ended up buying a bag of salt water taffy and it was delicious!  That was a hard choice!

The Pottery Shop
The Pottery Shop
Digital Camera
Scully Gallery…

On to the next shop which was a mix of sorts, there was jewelry and cermaic cups, shirts and more…. I thought of another special person to purchase a little something for… our daughter’s mother in law.  She was absolutely amazing!  She loves our daughter like one of her own, she looks out for her, takes care of her and is there for her.  So I had to find something… I scoured the shop and nothing jumped out at me.  Off to the next shop…pottery, really nice pottery… the next shop, more jewelry…. Finally we come to a little shop with paintings, they had from big to very small.  I found something!  It was a saying–something about “Children needing a role model, a loving example” something to that effect and that’s exactly what she is a loving example.  She encourages the kids, tells them that they can do whatever they want.  It was perfect!  Now I have to find a frame.

Foot Bridge Lobster....
Foot Bridge Lobster….

Off to the next place, walking down the way we came across a little place that was selling lobster–they had lobster rolls buy 1 get 1 free!  I thought oh my that sounds great!  So we got each a lobster and a drink, there was no tables to sit at so we had to go sit in the little square on the bench.  It was great, eating lobster, juice running down our arms and all!

Eating Lobster on the bench
Eating Lobster on the bench–the husband hates his picture taken so he controls the camera and takes my picture….lol

We hit a few more shops picking up a few souveniers for family back home and then we headed back to the car.  Well no one was at the car yet and we were hungry again so we decided to grab a little something else.  My husband absolutely LOVES clam chowder and here you can get it with fresh clams as opposed to the canned ones at home…clam chowder it was.  We sit down at this restaurant, get an order of chips and dip and clam chowder and it was good…. to top it off we sat outside and had the view of the coast!

Digital Camera
View of the coast
Digital Camera
View of the coast 

Once we finished eating we went back to the car and there was my mother in law and brother in law, patiently waiting on us.  They had just gotten to the car too, that worked out well.

Now off to the lighthouse!  It was about another half hour drive or so to the lighthouse.  Oh I could not belive the view when we got there!  This lighthouse is off on an island all by itself, clouds and water surrounded it, oh the view was gorgeous!  This beacon of light stood there tall and proud waving an American Flag.  Beside it there was a small farmhouse with a white picket fence and all.

Digital Camera
Nubble Lighthouse, Maine
Visit to the Nubble Lighthouse...
Visit to the Nubble Lighthouse…
Digital Camera
Nubble Lighthouse, Maine
Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse....
Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse….
Digital Camera
Nubble Lighthouse, Maine
Digital Camera
Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse, Maine
Digital Camera
Visiting the Nubble Lighthouse, Maine

We went down on the rock beds to take a closer look, I’ve always loved lighthouses.  I guess since my dad was a fisherman and I know that when they would come in late at night they depended upon those lights to bring them in.   In the back there were some tracks, looks like they use it to bring up their boat & supplies, that was kinda cool too.  When we finished looking around there, we headed over to the gift shop.  There was information on the Nubble Lighthouse, the history of it and all.  Pictures of the lighthouse on just about anything you could imagine! The attendant was very nice too, she was just as interested in us as I am from the South and my husband and his family are from Seattle, the west.  We were all sharing stories, laughing and enjoying each other’s company.  It was truly an experience I will never forget.

Once we left the lighthouse we decided to stop off for icecream.  There must have been 50 flavors!  Wow!  There were like 5 windows that you could order at too. Someone left the window with a cone and it had 3, yes 3 huge scoops of ice cream on it!  My mother in law and I looked at each other like that’s alot of ice cream.  Well we overheard someone else say that was large and there was a kiddie option that was a little smaller.  I got a sea salt caramel ice cream cone, my mother in law got chocolate, my husband got a sundae–and it had nuts on it– he was upset because he told the guy he did not want any nuts on it.  He did not want to go back to the window, he threw it away!  I sat there shaking my head, that’s my stubborn husband….   The rest of us sat on the bench and finished our ice cream and it was delicious and creamy.  I had never had sea salted caramel, which seems to be a big thing there.   Sorry no pictures of the ice cream stop, my batteries in the camera died….

Now it was getting dark, time to head back to the house.  This was a great day….thanks brother in law for letting us tag along and making it possible for me to see the lighthouse!

Leave a Reply

