Christmas Season begins with bloodshed

I’ve never been a big fan of “Black Friday” myself, I’ve always thought it to be senseless to go out and spend thousands of dollars on toys, clothes, watches and such putting myself in debt so deep I’m stressing over the payments for the next year.

I have no problem going to work and avoiding the crowds, the fights and the hustle and bustle of the peak of holiday shopping.

So tonight I’m on facebook, of course, and I see a story about the carnage from “Black Friday” 2015.  Don’t get me wrong I think that one site kinda went overboard with their numbers but, there was definitely carnage.  I don’t understand how it is justified to fight over something just because you want to buy it as a gift for someone.  Do you think that the recipient of this gift would appreciate it more because you fought for it?  Probably NOT!  If they do then they have a problem too!

I’ve worked in retail for many years and I don’t miss it!  And it was not quite as bad when I did as it is now.  I’m so glad I’m not in retail.  You need to stop and think about the cashiers, the stockers, the managers who are there missing out on family time to be there serving you. They are  VERY MUCH OVERWORKED during the holidays.  They are tired, hungry, have to go to the bathroom so bad sometimes, they think they are going to bust but, they are there waiting on you, most of the time with a smile.

Now the bloodshed, this has gotten ridiculous!  I mean fighting over the items is one thing but, killing–that’s gone too far.  I feel for the families of the victims that now have to celebrate the holidays without their loved ones.  Such senseless tradgedy!  What’s happening to this world?  People have gone MAD, absolutely MAD!  We are supposed to pray for one another, love one another, be kind to one another, do good deeds for one another and what happened?  In the midst of what is supposed to be the best times of the year, family gatherings, spreading of love and cheer?  Murder, mayhem, stealing—  Is it worth it?  No, I have never been a fan of the “Black Friday” thing and after seeing the news of the carnage of today I guess I never will be.

My point would be this-

Stop, think about your actions, think about your words, think is it worth it?  Think what would Jesus do?  Yes, what would Jesus do?  We need to think more like Jesus, more like Christians and bring a little peace & love to this sad world.  Maybe you could make a difference in someone’s life this holiday season.

Thanks for reading, hope you and your family have a very blessed and safe holiday season.

 

 

Leave a Reply

