And He says “We’re going to make it”

This morning started off kinda squirrelly, my husband was up all night with a headache, he hit his head pretty hard last night.  I was very concerned but, him being who he is says “I’m not going to the doctor!!”  I said “You know you are stubborn!!”  He said yeah & smiled.  I was debating whether or not to go to church and he says, you should go.  So I got up, got coffee, dressed and headed out.  I arrived a few minutes late & even though I was late, everyone still greeted me, hugged me, said they were glad to see me.   They asked how my husband was, he’s been under the weather the past couple of weeks. This is a very small congregation, but they are very loving and accepting of us.

When I got home my husband and I were sitting at the island in the kitchen and he passed behind me, brushing his hand across my back, I felt something, I felt a tenderness, I felt a vibe that I’ve not felt in a loooonnnngggg time, I felt love in that touch.  It was such a tenderness that it sent chills down my spine, melted my heart.  I didn’t say anything, at that moment I wanted to freeze time and just absorb all of the goodness out of that touch.  It was as though our hearts collided!

I went through the day without saying a word about it, thinking about the past few years, reminissing about the good and the bad times we’ve been through, how far we have come.  The joys and the sadness that we have faced and in that moment I knew “We’re gonna make it”  You don’t feel a touch this deep, deep in your heart, deep in your soul and just toss it out.

I spent most of the evening with my parents, they are not feeling too well and I don’t get to spend much time with them with the way I work.  All evening I kept thinking how gooooodddd that touch felt.

When I got back to the house I asked my husband to pause the show he was watching and I told him that I felt something that I’ve not felt in a long time.  He said what?  I said when you brushed up against me this morning I felt love, I felt a tenderness.  He said “I Love you!” I said I know, but I have not felt that in a touch in a long time.  Of course the tears came rolling down my face.  He said, we’ve been through alot, but we’re gonna make it, you are my best friend and I love you.

So tomorrow we will celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and I’m excited, I’m grateful that we made it.  Grateful on so many levels, grateful that Doug has grown in his Christian life, grateful to have him by my side, grateful that God has blessed me with him.  He gets on my nerves like no other but, he cooks, he cleans, he takes the dog out.  He worked so hard finishing up the bathroom so that we could have a shower.  He enclosed the tub, did all the work with precision and complained when it did not come out PERFECT.  I said in this house, perfection is not an option but, this is HOME!

Right now I plead the blood of the Lamb over our marriage, over our house, over our family.  I claim all the blessings that God has in store for us in the coming year.  I thank you Lord for bringing us this far, for guiding us through this journey.

Here’s to many more Anniversaries Honey!!!!!

Digital Camera

Leave a Reply

