How Lucky can a gal be? My heart is happy today…

Today I was in the kitchen cooking supper and got to thinking how lucky of a gal I am!  I felt such joy, happiness…absolutely jubliant!  I thought, thank you Lord for giving my dear husband and I the courage to conquer all the obstacles that have come at us during our time together.  It’s been a rocky road but, we stuck together, for the most part…  and we have finally hit a triumphant point in our relationship!  It’s been GREAT!!! We have learned to appreciate each other, love each other and respect each other now more than ever & I’m so grateful that we didn’t give up on each other as so many times that would have been the easy way…

Yesterday was a very special day…October 18th is the anniversary of us dating.  I can’t believe it’s been 9 years!

We spent the whole day together, Doug took the day off to go to the doctor with me.  I had an appointment with the surgeon and didn’t want to go by myself.  I wanted him there in case he had questions too and so that he would know what’s going on.  I’ve been very sick the past couple months fighting asthma, allergies and a hernia pressing on my left lung, which has been causing immense pain & pressure and affecting my breathing alot.  Once we left the doctor we headed to another doctor’s office to pick up paperwork that the surgeon wanted to review in his consideration for the surgery.  Thankfully his boss was understanding and let him have the day off.  It really made me feel good to have him there with me.  & it just ended up being on our anniversary.

I count myself very blessed indeed, I have a wonderful husband, 2 beautiful daughters, son-in-laws and 2 beautiful grandchildren… which I thought I would never have the privilege of being Memaw (as I’ve never had my own children)! I tell you I love those babies so very much!  They are absolutely adorable & have stolen my heart forever…

You see my husband & I had lots of issues to work through.  I’m a Christian, always have been as I was raised by a God fearing Grandmother who brought us to church, taught us respect and to treat people how you want to be treated and my husband was a defiant, wild, mouthy diver who did not believe in God.  He always said he knew there was a higher power but, he just didn’t know who or what it was.  Through LOTS of fervent, uplifting, fearless prayer he has been saved and is now a Christian and worships our God with such devotion it’s breathtaking.  Oh, the transformation has been absolutely wonderful!  I felt such a connection with this man from the beginning and I KNEW that God had a plan and that he was meant for me & I was meant for him.  We needed each other and God knew that, God knew that Doug needed a woman of faith in his life that would fight for him sparing nothing…a woman that would have the courage to conquer the devil himself in prayer for the man that she so loved. That woman was me… I know that God prepared me to do what needed to be done for this wonderful man.  I could not have done it without God’s help, guidance and strength.  But, God also knew that I needed this man.  A man that would fight for the woman he loved, determined to change his life for the better, giving up a lifestyle that he had become accustomed to over the years of being single and leading a daring life.  Before we started dating, he was a fly by night…anything goes kinda guy.  His life has done a total 180 and I’m amazed at the work that God has done in his life as well as mine.

It’s always amazing to see God perform miracles and this sure has been one, as I stated we had a very rocky road for a while.  You see we had separated for a while, we still did things together, went places together, remained friends.  Neither of us dated anyone else during that time, my Mom would tell me “He needs you!” & I would be like yeah right!  You know how the saying goes…. Mama knows… well my Mom knew how much we loved each other and how much we desperately needed each other.  She spent many nights fearlessly praying for both of us too, begging God to give us the courage to work things out and he did.  Thankfully, he did.

I’m at a point right now that I’m ecstatic with my life, I love my husband dearly and pray that God will continue to give us the courage to stand up for each other and our marriage.  We both feel marriage is a sacred bond not to be taken lightly. I’m going to press on with no fear, no worries, just a passion for this man that God has so generously blessed me with.

Thank you Lord for giving us the courage to tread through the rocky roads of this thing we call love and getting us to an amazing point in life where we are blessed beyond belief….

All my love to you Douglas, thank you for loving me!

Your loving wife

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

